Welcome & Disclaimers :D

Standard

Welcome.

Grab a cup of your favorite beverage and get comfy  😀

As I have written in my brief description of author; once upon a time, I wrote regular emails to keep friends and family up to date on the goings on in our family.  While I occasionally got beautiful responses back, it didn’t feel very community/relationship friendly, and some didn’t really like receiving a bulk email…  I moved to writing more about my life within the framework of a forum. Here there was a wonderful give and take, on one part prayer and grace of just listening actively, and feeling heard, and in another area there was a wrestling with doctrine, theology, opinions and long held beliefs that worked out the sharpening of iron as we argued and pushed and wrestled.  We called it the hockey rink… and sometimes many of us were angry, but it was a place where I grew.  Those days are gone, and tho I have a forum I can and occasionally do enter into,  I have the desire to meld those worlds – the worlds of emails & forum; the worlds of “know in person friends/family” and “online, met maybe once, maybe never, friends”.  I also want a place to write more than FB status allows; for, I’m a writer at heart, and YHVH created me to be a teller of the story..

I welcome comments, even disagreements, especially if they are respectful, and not directed personally.  I sense I have a style of writing which makes people feel like “this is the way it is, there is no room for disagreement.” I’m going to work on that, but I want to say, up front that especially in regard to doctrine/theology, what I write will be “how I see it right now which may or may not step on other’s toes, I’m just getting it out on paper”; however, opposing viewpoints are welcome! Even if for no other reason than to grow my abilities in grace and unity in Christ even in the midst of disagreement on the finer points.  I’ve come to appreciate and enjoy looking at; wrestling with other perspectives.  So, feel free to share, please don’t feel offended if I don’t agree… We can disagree rather violently, and still be friends. :D
You should also know that I am in the process of wrestling thru everything I was taught. A house of cards made of all the doctrine, traditions & practice within the denomination (Seventh-day Adventist) I grew up in came tumbling down for me in the fall of 2010. I’m in the process of picking up each card and wrestling thru whether it is worthy and truth, or not. If you are faithful to that denomination, please don’t take my wrestling personally.  It’s something I have to do for me – the examination of the Scriptures regularly  to see if what I’ve been taught is true. (Acts 17:11)

I should also say that this blog will be varied on topic… My faith will be a ribbon running thru it all, but, if you know me well, you know that no topic is off limits for me.  Adult content may be included.  Family & Personal Wholeness is a driving desire of mine – that includes all areas of our lives… As a result, I’m likely to talk about all areas of our lives at some point or another. You’ve been warned :D

Oh, to answer the question – How did I come to the name and tagline?  Shakam Boqer is detailed on the page “Shakam Boqer?!?!?” found here:  https://shakamboqer.wordpress.com/about/   

I’ve always wondered at verses like Psalm 124:8 “Our help is in the name of the LORD, who made heaven and earth.” or Proverbs 18:10 “The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.”  I’ve long questioned, What exactly is the “name of the LORD”??(that phrase is used 108 times in the OT)  Recently, I’ve learned that anytime the KJV has “the LORD” in all caps, the Hebrew was simply, without article, YHWH or YHVH (pronounced Yahweh or Yehovah, the shortened form is Yah). So, it would have read – “The name of YHWH is a strong tower, or Our help is in the name of Yehovah.”

I’ve also learned that Psalms 118:26  ”Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the LORD”is refering to the Messiah, and, He did come in the name of Yah – his Hebrew name was Yehoshua or the shortened “Yeshua”.  Meaning “Yehovah is Salvation.”  So, just to remove any confusion – I use God, Elohim, Lord, Father and YHWH, Yehovah; and Yeshua/Yahshua, Jesus interchangeably and am comfortable with all of the above.
We have a German friend, Benjamin, whose name, in German is pronounced Ben-yah-mean, not Ben-ja-min. Out of respect for him, we pronounce his name in German, not English. In the same way, I prefer to give the Creator of the Universe the respect of calling Them by the names They gave us to call Them.  That’s not a doctrinal thing for me, and I don’t expect my readers to follow suit, it’s just where I’m at personally in my relationship with Them.

I’m not sure how often I’ll post here, but I have a lot on my heart that I so want to write.  Please join me on this journey!

In Him, In Love,
Misty

Photo of Blog Author

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

What are your thoughts?

