Potatoes & the Moon

Standard


*Originally written and published on Aug 25, 2011.  Much in my life has changed since the writing of this post, however, the truths contained within haven’t changed. 😀  2012 dates have been added in parenthesis.

“You know, it ain’t the right time for plantin taters.”

I looked up from my freshly cut pile of potato eyes at my neighbor’s silhouette against the spring sky, and raised one eyebrow, “Really?”

“Yep, the moon’s not turned down. When it is turned up, taters get big and green, but they only put on a few taters, really really deep.  My dad, he showed me.  We planted a row of taters at both times.  The row that we planted when the moon was turned down gave a great crop, th’other one’s didn’t do nothing.  My dad, he had me dig them.  I dug, and dug – more than 2 feet down – nothin.”

“Wow. Man, that stinks.  I just cut the eyes, and I have to put them in the ground, cause I’m headed out of town”

So, I planted taters, and the rest of the garden that day, with the moon turned up (new moon waxing to full).
I called my Grandpa – Michigan farm boy, 50 years my elder and asked him about the moon and potatoes.  “Naw! we planted potatoes at all times of the  month, and we always got the same crop!  And, we planted fields and fields of potatoes” So, I waited with expectant hope.

Fall came, the harvest was great! Beautiful field corn, lots of greens, humongous butternut squash.

But not the potatoes.  There were at least 40 plants, likely 50+, and less than 1/2 bushel of potatoes.   I dug, and dug, and dug.  A few measly potatoes big enough to eat, and several handfuls the size of my thumb. I was deflated.  Well, I thought, that wasn’t worth it! Not doing potatoes again!

The next year, I had a couple of volunteer plants, that produced a handful of potatoes – good size, not spectacular, but good size.

Volunteer Potatoes (and a few onions)

Last week, I dug this year’s volunteer potatoes. Remnants of taters far too deep to dig from 3 seasons back. About 10 plants. I expected one or two potatoes.  Nope! Out of those 10 plants, I easily dug almost a half bushel!  Good sized potatoes, big enough for baking!  I was floored.

As I spent the rest of the day hoeing and pulling weeds, I thought a lot about those potatoes, and the moon, and the lights that our Creator gave us for signs, and seasons.  Could the moon’s gravity really have that much influence on a crop of potatoes? Really?  I’ve later learned that yes, the scientific research supports the idea that the moon affects rainfall, and surface water – the waxing moon brings more moisture to seeds and is great time for planting herbaceous vegies.  The Waning moon, however brings a bit of dryness, which promotes root growth, good for taters, carrots, and even strawberries, as part of their demise is weak roots that become broken by winter freeze.

On a more spiritual level tho, I thought of the potatoes, planted at the wrong time, which looked great on the top, but didn’t produce much… a few marble size potatoes, some presumably more than 2 feet down.  Disappointing, unfulfilled hope. And Yet, 3 years later, I’m still reaping a harvest.

Do we do that? If we are planted in a bad time, bad situation, do we wait it out, burrow deep, and wait for the next good time to emerge again?   Presumably, the potatoes this year, had something written into their code about when the right time was to stick their green leaves above the ground, and start working on tubers.  The signs and seasons were right – and they flourished!

Aviv Moon 2011, + 3 days

As I worked, I also thought of the Moon, and it’s importance.  It is the marker for the Creator’s Calendar.  New Moon, and Barley being ripe enough to pick in 2 weeks. That’s what starts His New Year. The first month is called “Aviv” the Hebrew word that refers to the barley being ripe.

Psalms 104:19, in the Hebrew literally says, He created the moon for Appointed times(Mo’adim). Leviticus 23 lists what those Mo’adim are (Sabbath, and the feasts of YHWH).  In Numbers 10:10 & Psalms 81:3, YHWH instructs – Blow the Shofar at the beginning of your month (literally new moon), let it be a memorial to your God!  Numbers 28:11-15 gives a list of sacrifices for the new moon celebration. By the second temple period it took two witnesses for the Sanhedrin to declare and proclaim the New Moon.  Isaiah says that in the New Earth, we’ll be coming before YHWH to worship Him – on the New Moons, and on the Sabbaths.   The New Moon is a pretty big deal, really…
But not more so than on “the day no man knows”  or “the Hidden Day” – Hebrew idioms designating the one feast that starts at the sighting of the New Moon. Yom Teruah, The Feast of Trumpets.

Lev 23:24,25  “Speak unto the children of Israel, saying, `In the seventh month, on the first day of the month, shall ye have a sabbath, a memorial of blowing of trumpets, a holy convocation. Ye shall do no servile work therein, but ye shall offer an offering made by fire unto the LORD.'”

In those days, no one knew when the new moon would be sighted, they didn’t have the calculations estimated down to a fraction of a degree as we do now. They could guess, and fairly accurately, but sometimes, it was a day late. Sometimes, it was rainy.  The first sliver of the new moon is only visible for a short amount of time, right at or after sunset, so any number of conditions could lead one to not know when the new moon would be.  So… The people of YHWH prepared ahead of time. For the 30 days prior, a shofar was blown in the temple & synagogue, to warn of the judgement coming – judgement starting with Yom Teruah, and closing 10 days later at the end of the Day of Atonement.   They were in the midst of harvest, but they took the time to reflect on their lives and put them in order; time to wash their party clothes – white linen garments, have their trumpets out, have food prepared.  Then, they went back to harvesting, and waited, and watched the skies, watched for the “signs”, the tiny sliver of the New Moon. Their motto was “Watch”. Once sighted – in from the fields they came – to bathe, dress in white linen, and move on to the  blowing of trumpets, Praising Yah, offering burnt offerings.

For those of us raised with frequent trips down eschatological lanes, a lot of this sounds really familiar… Starting with Yeshua’s words, in Matthew 24,  Mark 13, and Luke 21 about the end of time. The signs and things that would come, the admonition to watch, carefully, to be prepared, to keep watch…Espeically, his use of the Hebrew idioms, which we have taken literally –  Mark 13:28-33
“From the fig tree learn its lesson: as soon as its branch becomes tender and puts out its leaves, you know that summer is near.  So also, when you see these things taking place, you know that He is near, at the very gates.  Truly, I say to you,  this generation will not pass away until all these things take place.  Heaven and earth will pass away,  but my words will not pass away.”
“But concerning that day or that hour, no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.  Be on guard, keep awake. For you do not know when the time will come.”

There are actually two idioms there – the throw back to Feast of Trumpets, and:  When the Bridegroom betrothed his Bride, he returned to His Father’s home to “prepare a place for her” – a dwelling, a room.  His father would oversee the work, and only His Father could declare the job finished, and the time to go “steal” the Bride away to the marriage chamber, where they would stay in isolation for 7 days, and consummate the  marriage, after which time was a huge marriage celebration! Interestingly, the Bride of course, was to be on the lookout for the Groom, she was to keep a lamp lit in the window, for him… (For more on this, check out one fellowship’s pictures & description of a “Hebrew Wedding Drama” http://curtis.loftinnc.com/Yom_Teruah_Drama.htm)

So, in one breath, Yeshua is giving some huge clues – It’s like a wedding, Only the Father knows when it will start. Be watchful just like you are before the “day no one knows”.  That is a shadow of the good things to come – the Essence of which is Messiah! (Col 2:17)  Be watchful as the bride, as my people are in the days leading up to the New Moon, of the 7th month. You can see, just like the fig tree, that the time is almost here.  Be sure to Watch!

Other interesting connections and idioms surrounding the Feast of Trumpets –
It’s also known as:

“The day of the Awakening Blast”
“The Coronation of the KING”
“The day Judgement is declared” or the “Day of Judgement” (Day of Atonement ends this time of Judgement, which starts on feast of Trumpets and goes for 10 days, the days of Awe, culminating in the Day of Atonement, a day that ends with a final Jubilee Trumpet, as all Jubilee years start on the Day of Atonement)

“The time of Jacob’s Trouble”
“The time of Remembrance”
“The time of the Opening of the Gates” (of Heaven)
“Behold, the Bridegroom Comes”

It’s exciting really.

To ask the questions – Will Yeshua fulfill the shadows that the Fall Feasts pointed to in the same way He fulfilled the Spring Feasts?  In the very day, hour, moment?!  Will it be this year? Should I rehearse getting ready, rehearse this drama so that when the day actually arrives – this year, or many from now, I know my part?  So that My heart has gone thru the time of repentance, my “garments” are washed white, my soul aches for the blast of the Shofar which will announce the coming of my Groom.

This year (2011), the 40 days of repentance, which starts 30 days before Yom Teruah, and ends on the Day of Atonement, should begin on evening of August 30 (August 19, 2012) – provided a New Moon sighting.  Day of Trumpets should start on the evening of the 29th of September (Sept 17th or 18th, 2012), again – provided a New Moon Sighting.  Yom Kippur/Day of Atonement, 10 days later, starting the evening of Oct 8 (September 26th or 27, 2012), and, then, 5 days later – The wonderful foreshadowing of the Wedding Feast of the Lamb, Immanuel – God Dwelling(Tabernacling) with Us, Feast of Tabernacles/Sukkot begins on the evening of Oct 13 (October 2 or 3rd, 2012)  and continues thru till the evening of Oct 21 (Oct 9 or 10, 2012).

Yeah – The time is at hand. Like I said in my last blog, healing is coming for me personally. Repentance brings Healing.  Right now, Repentance for me is identifying and renouncing the part of me that is striving, trying to arrange for Life, trying to control. I’m sure, as I Dance with My Bridegroom, over the next 2 mos, there will be more He reveals that needs repented of.  It’s okay tho, It’s a journey I’m willing to take – As I finish up the Harvest,  Under the Moon, with my surprise Potatoes stored..
(2012 – Wow what a year it has been since this was written.  I’ve certainly danced with my Bridegroom thru some very hard things, and it’s been a beautiful journey!  Looking forward to what the coming 40 days of repentance, and the coming year will bring!)

New Moon + 1 day, July 4th, 2011, Beginning of 4th Month of Creator’s Calendar

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Times & Seasons – thoughts on Feasts of Trumpets « Shakam Boqer

  2. Pingback: Times & Seasons – thoughts on Feasts of Trumpets « Shakam Boqer

  3. Pingback: Happy New Moon!!! Rosh Chodesh & Chag Same’ach « Shakam Boqer

What are your thoughts?

