It’s a New Day! Starting each one in faith…

Standard

The start of the day….


And the evening and the morning, were the first day, second day, third day…. seventh day…

 

And the Lord walked with Adam in the cool of the evening…..

 


I’ve been thinking about Yahweh’s calendar vs our Roman Calendar a lot lately. I’ve already quit celebrating the holidays mostly known to the world as the “church calendar holidays” – Valentines, Lent, Easter, All Saints/Halloween, Christmas, and even some of the “lesser” ones. Scheduling makes Thanksgiving and Christmas – New Years a convenient time to get together with family, but neither has any spiritual draw for me, and all the trappings of Christmas are not part of our December routine.

A friend noticed a few months, something that I noticed when I first started this journey some 3 1/2 years ago… “If a person is going to put away all things that are of pagan origin, that means a LOT of things… like half of the way we do life.” And it’s true… Coming out of Babylon, and the system of daily life and worship does mean changing a LOT about one’s life.  To the point it could overwhelm, especially if the point was about the To Do list, or the point were to be more righteous, or …

It doesn’t have to be tho! In fact, I’ve enjoyed much about this journey! Tho, in part, it started with the strong conviction that it was time to stop with Christmas observance and begin a coming out of that part of Babylonian Sun-god worship… Most of my journey has not been about a religion of “thou shalt not’s” but about a heart desire to know and love my Savior more fully.  The Beauty in His Feasts, is astounding.  I’ve been so blessed, over and over and over again…


So anyway, the Creator’s calendar… The days. They start at sundown. I get that, I’ve been keeping Sabbath since infancy from sunset Friday till sunset Sabbath.
At the same time… I don’t get it. All of my other days start when I wake up, and I hit the ground running. Often I stayed up late the night before finishing up some project.


That’s not how we were created. That’s not what Abba practiced with His children in the garden.  No… In the cool of the day, as the shadows lengthened and the sky began to light up with an orange glow, he came to spend time with his dear beloved.  They talked, they shared a meal perhaps, He tucked them in.  They started their day in communion, in rest, in faith and trust. They went to sleep with this incredible intimacy on their minds and of course, when they woke up, those thoughts were still there….


I wonder….

How much better would we all be, if as we watched the sun fall, we took a bit to spend with Him. We ate, we fellowshipped with our family, and we went to bed. In trust, faith, communion… What if all projects ended at sunset… and the new day began.
What would it look like to go to bed, in His arms, early… and to rise, very early the next morning, to spend a bit more time with him, and then pick up those projects and continue with them…

I wonder, just how starting the day at sunset would impact our lives for the better….
I think I’m going to try it to find out 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

One response »

What are your thoughts?

