Gleanings from Micah

Standard
The following are verses with a collection of thoughts or questions from my study today, stuff that jumped out at me that I wanted to write down so I didn’t forget.  It’s not my typical blog post that tells my story or His story, it’s just my gleanings from reading Micah.

If you have anything to add, any insight, feel free.

The Mountain of the LORD – Micah 4

1 In the last days

the mountain of the LORD’s temple will be established
as the highest of the mountains;
it will be exalted above the hills,
and peoples will stream to it.

2 Many nations will come and say,

“Come, let us go up to the mountain of the LORD,
to the temple of the God of Jacob.
He will teach us his ways,
so that we may walk in his paths.”
The law will go out from Zion,
the word of the LORD from Jerusalem.
3 He will judge between many peoples
and will settle disputes for strong nations far and wide.
They will beat their swords into plowshares
and their spears into pruning hooks.
Nation will not take up sword against nation,
nor will they train for war anymore.
4 Everyone will sit under their own vine
and under their own fig tree,
and no one will make them afraid,
for the LORD Almighty has spoken.
5 All the nations may walk
in the name of their gods,
but we will walk in the name of the LORD
our God for ever and ever.

The LORD’s Plan

6 “In that day,” declares the LORD,

“I will gather the lame;
I will assemble the exiles
and those I have brought to grief.
7 I will make the lame my remnant,
those driven away a strong nation.
The LORD will rule over them in Mount Zion
from that day and forever.
8 As for you, watchtower of the flock,
stronghold[a] of Daughter Zion,
the former dominion will be restored to you;
kingship will come to Daughter Jerusalem.”

In the verses above, the word for “lame”, Tsala,  is used 4 times in the OT, twice here, once in Zeph in a  very similar context, and last,  from Gen 32:
So Jacob was left alone, and a man wrestled with him till daybreak. 25 When the man saw that he could not overpower him, he touched the socket of Jacob’s hip so that his hip was wrenched as he wrestled with the man. 26 Then the man said, “Let me go, for it is daybreak.”   But Jacob replied, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.”

27 The man asked him, “What is your name?”

“Jacob,” he answered.

28 Then the man said, “Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel,[f] because you have struggled with God and with humans and have overcome.”

29 Jacob said, “Please tell me your name.”

But he replied, “Why do you ask my name?” Then he blessed him there.

30 So Jacob called the place Peniel,[g] saying, “It is because I saw God face to face, and yet my life was spared.”

31 The sun rose above him as he passed Peniel,[h] and he was limping because of his hip. 32 Therefore to this day the Israelites do not eat the tendon attached to the socket of the hip, because the socket of Jacob’s hip was touched near the tendon.

So, by the Scripture’s own definition, the lame in Micah 4, and Zep 3 are those who are like Jacob named Israel, who have struggled with God & with man? Those who have wrestled with YHVH, not willing to let Him go until He has blessed them…~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Micah contains the prophecy that the Deliverer will come from Bethlehem, what I didn’t realize is that there is more to this prophecy, and I think it’s the  basis for the Jews believing that the Messiah would bring the scattered tribes of Israel back to the land of Israel…   (part of why some did and have not accepted Yeshua as Messiah)

Micah 5:
2 [c] (B)But you, O Bethlehem Ephrathah,
who are too little to be among the clans of (C)Judah,
from you shall come forth for me
one who is to be (D)ruler in Israel,
(E)whose coming forth is (F)from of old,
from ancient days.
3 Therefore he shall give them up (G)until the time
when she who is in labor has given birth;
then (H)the rest of his brothers shall return
to the people of Israel.
4 And he shall stand (I)and shepherd his flock (J)in the strength of the LORD,
in the majesty of the name of the LORD his God.
And they shall dwell secure, for now (K)he shall be great
to the ends of the earth.
5 And he shall be (L)their peace.

So, a ruler comes out of Bethlehem, whose coming is from old (as in, it’s long been foretold).   What I think the Jews may have missed is verse 3.   “He shall give them up” (speaking of Israel the nation – possible the Southern kingdom/Jews), “until the time when she who is in labor has given birth THEN the rest of his (Judah’s) brothers shall return to the people of Israel AND he shall stand and shepherd his flock, and they will dwell secure.”

Yeshua did give the Jews (from the tribe of Judah & Benjamin primarily) of his day up, when they rejected him, and the other brothers (the other 10 tribes) will not return UNTIL one who labors gives birth.  So, the question remains – “who” is in labor? “Who” gives birth? This is After the birth of the Messiah in Bethlehem, so it’s not the Messiah’s mother, as referenced in Revelation 12:2&5 (BY the way, the signs in the heavens noted in Rev 12:1 – occurred in the days prior to Yeshua’s birth!) … however, later in Revelation 12, she, the woman who gave birth, is persecuted by the enemy, is hiding in the wilderness, and it seems that this is no longer speaking of a person – perhaps the church? The dragon makes war with the remnant of her seed…

So, while Rev gives us some clues, it doesn’t clear it up, and the Jews didn’t have Revelation to help them out, so my question would be, how would/could they have understood this text, and why?? Where are the other clues to help the reader/listener know what YHVH is talking about here?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What a beautiful ending!

Micah 7:
18 (AR)Who is a God like you, (AS)pardoning iniquity
and passing over transgression
(AT)for the remnant of his inheritance?
(AU)He does not retain his anger forever,
because he delights in steadfast love.
19 He will (AV)again have compassion on us;
(AW)he will tread our iniquities underfoot.
(AX)You will cast all our[e] sins
into the depths of the sea.
20 (AY)You will show faithfulness to Jacob
and steadfast love to Abraham,
(AZ)as you have sworn to our fathers
from the days of old.

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

What are your thoughts?

