Shavuot – Arthur Bailey

Standard

The following blog is a transcription of my notes from one of the speakers at Shavuot 2012, with A Rood Awakening.  The weekend was intended to equip and strengthen those able to attend. Seating was limited and there was a cover charge/donation for this “continuing education” event, so it was a small group. The teachings were solid, the fellowship wonderful, the two meals per day provided excellent, and we came home with a box of study helps and teachings.
On a couple of the teachings, I didn’t take great notes, because we were in meetings from 9 am till 10 pm, with meal breaks, and I struggled to stay awake during the afternoon meetings. (I’m so glad I left my boys with my mom, as they would not have done well with the long hours and I would have missed so much!) All of the teachings included teaching helps, power point, pics, etc, which of course, I can’t duplicate here…  All texts are from the Complete Jewish Bible or the KJV as I didn’t have internet access to copy/paste from other versions.

I truly appreciated the many hours of instruction, from several teachers, on the subject of the work of the Holy Spirit.
Though SDA’s say they accept the gifts of the Spirit as being valid for today, they tend to be exceptionally leery of any manifestation of the Spirit, and especially tongues. Unintelligible tongues (not a foreign language) are completely out of the accepted norm, despite Paul’s clear writing in 1 Cor 12, 13 & 14.  Including “though I speak with the tongues of men, even angels” and “Keep on eagerly seeking the things of the Spirit; and especially seek to be able to prophecy.”  Or “I wish you all would speak in tongues” or “I thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you”  and that tongue is described as “For someone speaking in a tongue is not speaking to people but to God, because no one can understand, since he is uttering mysteries in the power of the Spirit.”  Or… “For if I pray in a tongue, my spirit does pray, but my mind is unproductive”.  (None of which sound like the speaking in a foreign, but known to a people group on earth, language).  His instructions on congregational setting is – “Whenever you come together, let everyone be ready with a psalm or a teaching or a revelation, or ready to use his gift of tongues or given an interpretation; but let everything be done for edification.” How do we embrace 1 Cor 13, but toss out so much of 12 & 14?!?!
I’d already been wrestling with these Scriptures vs my upbringing vs my experience with the edifying gift of tongues over the past month – having just realized that the “love” chapter, which has been the defining chapter of my life, is sandwiched between two chapters on the Gifts and Manifestations of the Spirit, which I confess, I don’t understand well, given my upbringing. So, it was incredibly good for me to have hours of solid Biblical teaching on the things of the Spirit!!!

I will say that as I typed these notes up, there were a few things that left questions in my mind. Please know that I don’t have all the answers to all the questions these teachings might bring.  I’m merely transcribing my handwritten notes to typeset and posting as a blog for my remembrance, and to push us all to deeper study.

I will say this – I am convinced that it is okay – No, not just okay, but RIGHT to Eagerly seek the things of the Spirit!!!
“ YHVH, I want more of You and Your Spirit! Make me a vessel of Honor for You to indwell and fill with your Spirit and manifestations in accordance with Your incredible plan for My life!!”

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spirit Filled Believers – Shavuot & Beyond:

Acts 1:12 tells us that the Disciples ABODE in the upper room, not that they and 120 met in the upper room.

One of the things that the Spirit does is illuminate the Word of YHVH… so in Acts 1:15-26, when Peter addresses the disciples regarding drawing lots to choose a new disciple, he takes from two Psalms the directive to do this. Of course, in John 20:22 we are told Yeshua breathed upon his disciples and said, receive the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy Spirit).  So we have two witnesses to the fact that Peter was filled with the Holy Spirit prior to Pentecost.

We’ve been taught that something supernatural always occurs with the Baptism of the Holy Spirit – when what we should be aware of is the presence of the Holy Spirit, who is always available whether we “feel” it supernaturally or not.

So – PRIOR to Pentecost:
Again – John 20:19-23 Peace up on you! Yeshua repeated. “Just as the Father sent me, I myself and also sending you.” Having said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Ruach HaKodesh! If you forgive someone’s sins, their sins are forgiven; if you hold them, they are held.” (but Thomas wasn’t there)

He also opened up their minds to understand the Scriptures – Luke 24:13-49 (Emmaus walk) .  as a side note, Cleopas was a disciple, just not one of the 12.

Luke 1:41 – Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.

So, it’s clear that the Holy Spirit was present and active even before Pentecost.

1 Cor 15:5-6 tells us that Yeshua appeared to 500 disciples, a lot who were at that time still living, some had fallen asleep.
In denominations, we are taught to overlook parts of Scripture. We HAVE to question!!!
Going back to Acts 1 – the qualifications for a New Disciple to be designated to join the 12 was – they must have been present from the time of John’s baptism thru the resurrection.  This gives the clear impression that there were many disciples who had been present for all or part of that time.
The disciples appointed 2 – Joseph Barsabas & Matthias.
Then, they prayed for further discernment.
We have to pray to be sure what we are doing is HIS Agenda.
His sheep know His Voice –

He gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be teachers.

(I took some time to pray –
“Yeshua, show me more about what I have been called too and gifted with. Give me direction on where I need to be obedient. Make my heart right with you. Cleanse me and allow me to walk in your calling, when your time for that is right. Let me know you in the Spirit. Clear my Spirit and soul so that nothing separates you and I !!” )

Acts 2:1 The festival of “Pentecost” means Shavuot or Feast of Weeks arrived.
We, Christians often ignore that Pentecost was Shavuot! We teach that the “church” started at Pentecost, forgetting that what happened there was a fulfillment of what Shavuot was designed to prophecy of.

There were at least 120 who were filled with the Holy Spirit at Pentecost, however, as we’ve already seen, the Holy Spirit had been given in times past, even in the OT.
The 120 being filled was an early fulfillment of Joel’s prophecy – “YHVH says, In the Last Days, I will pour out from my Spirit upon everyone. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on my slaves, both men and women, will I pour out from my Spirit in those days and they will prophesy. I will perform miracles in the sky above and signs on the earth below, blood, fire, and thick smoke. The sun will become dark, and the moon blood before the great and fearful Day of YHVH comes. And then, whoever calls on the name of YHVH will be saved.”

Of note, Acts 2:1 says that the Festival of Shavuot arrived and the believers all gathered “in one accord” in one place and suddenly there was a sound from the sky like the roar of a violent wind, and if filled the whole house where they were sitting.  (and in verse 6, a crowd gathered, confused over the noise they had heard – it should be noted that the “house” was likely the House of YHVH, which is where every Jew in the country would have been that morning – which makes the “crowd gathered” a lot more plausible than if they had been in a literal house where the 12 disciples slept)

Not everyone who was present received the Promised Gift – only those who were waiting for it and were expecting it, based on Yeshua’s words to remain in Jerusalem, for a gift.
(YHVH – I’m waiting, and expecting! – filled with Expectant hope!)

We don’t know if we have received whatever gift YHVH has for us until we put it to the test. We have to step out in faith.  Pride can get in the way of doing that. We don’t want to make a mistake; we don’t want to mess up. There will be times when the manifestation does not come even when we step out in faith.
Trust that He has fulfilled his outpouring, his Promise!
(YHVH, help me to step out in faith, to go, do, say when you show me to go, do, say.)

If we confess with our mouth & believe with our heart, we will be saved – made whole.  (Romans 10:9 paraphrased)
The words which come out of our mouth should match what we believe…
Phil 4:8 – Whatsoever things are true, noble, righteous, pure, loveable, admirable, having virtue or worthy of praise, think on these things!!

Elijah was a man like we are who prayed. – He stepped out in faith, and then did a lot of praying (the son of the woman of Shunem; The time of no rain, vs time of rain…

The Priests set foot into the Jordon, into the water – BEFORE the way was made.

Are we willing to step out in faith??

(I went up for prayer. In that, prayer, the request was made for my voice – that it be strong, clear, and that I hear or say nothing but the Ruach. That the spirits be sent forth, and for deliverance! Praise Yehovah!)

Spirit Filled Believer – Shavuot & Beyond, part 2

Again,  Acts 2 – Pentecost was the fulfillment of Joel 3:1-5 according to Peter in Acts 2:17-21
The disciples were waiting for the promise, they were expecting! There were many present in Jerusalem but Ruach was only poured on those who expected it!!!!
There were those who believed it was YHVH and others who mocked – who said it was another spirit, not the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy spirit)! (Acts 2:13)

Acts 19 – many years later, Paul is in Ephesus and finds some disciples, and asks, “Have you received the Holy Spirit since you believed?” and they answered, “No, we have never even heard that there is such a thing as the Holy Spirit!”
Even tho they were believers, they had never even heard about the Spirit!
So, Paul asks, “Unto what were you baptized?” which was the same as asking, what denomination are you from??
They were baptized with John’s baptism.
Paul replies, “John baptized the baptism of repentances, saying to the people that they should believe on Him which should come after him, that is, on Yeshua the Messiah.”
So, they were baptized, Paul laid his hands upon them, the Ruach haKodesh came upon them so that they began speaking in tongues and prophesying. – About 12 men in all.

This story tells us several things – first – *We must hunger for the Holy Ghost!* – not the specific manifestations.  Also – There is something foundation about the laying on of hands.  Third – Even today – there are those who have not heard of the Spirit OR deny that his manifestations are for us today, OR say the manifestations are from a demonic spirit.

Luke 11 – All we need to do is ask, knock, and seek.

Going back to “The House” that the disciples were in … from the following verses are clear that YHVH’s House is none other than the Temple, so “the house” could easily mean the Temple.
Ex 34:26, Ps 84:10, Isa 56:1-7, Mark 11:15
(off topic Side note: Interestingly – Is 56:1-7 contains a very poignant promise to those with damaged sexual organs. This is important in context of one of the laws within Torah…)
Also, from Isa, there is a precedent that we should not claim the things we do not want. Isa 56:3 the eunuch should not say, “I am only a dried up tree.”
Death and life are in the power of our tongues! Do not claim the ailment, illness, disability that you do not want! Don’t make it a definition of your life!

So, going back to Acts 2 – They were in the House, all together, most likely in the Temple.  The Spirit comes, they are filled, begin to prophecy and speak in tongues.
In this case, it was not unintelligible.  The devout men, Jews, dwelling in Jerusalem at the time, could understand what they were saying (people who, by the way, were conversing with one another, so all had to also know a common language – likely Hebrew, as they were all Jews; but they heard in their mother tongue from their birthplace. ) Men who were: Parthians, Medes, Elamites, Mesopatamians, Judeans, Cappadocians, from Pontus & Asia, Others from Phrygia, Pamphylia, Egypt, Cyrene area of Lybia, Rome, Cretes & Arabians, who were strangers to Rome, Jews, and proselytes to Judaism.

It is more than likely that these same Jews saw Yeshua’s crucifixion, and could have been shouting, Crucify Him. BECAUSE, this was a pilgrimage feast – as was Passover and Feast of Tabernacles/Sukkot.  So, they likely also had been at Sukkot, when on the last great day of the feast, Yeshua proclaimed himself to be the living water that the water oblation pointed to, and the leaders, at that time were dying to capture Yeshua.  Point being, they knew the history of the last few feasts. They knew who this Yeshua was. They knew what had happened!!!  And over 3000 were converted that day!

Shavuot is – 1. Pilgrimage Feast

2. Traditionally believed to be the giving of the 10 commandments and First Covenant.

3. Traditionally believed to be the day King David died.

4. Was the fulfillment of the New covenant.

In response to the disciples speaking in tongues – there were two responses, those who wondered what was going on, and believed. Those who mocked, saying it was drunkenness.
Arthur, the speaker, said he does not drink for several reasons, tho it is clearly not prohibited in Scripture. His top reason is his children, and their potential, given his father’s alcoholism, to become alcoholics themselves.
In Peter’s response, he quotes Joel, but interestingly, he picks it up well after the first chapter which tells the drunkards to awake and mourn.  However, the fulfillment of Joel’s prophecy in Joel 2:28-31 rested on the repentance of the people (Joel 2:12-13). The entire promise from Joel is beautiful in context – take the time to read it!!
Not surprisingly, when the people asked Peter what they needed to do, his first instructions were “repent & be baptized!” Acts 2:38.
When we read Acts 2:21 “And it shall come to pass that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.” We, Christians interpret that to mean, “whosoever shall call on the name of Jesus shall be saved.”  However, Peter was quoting Joel 2:32, which in Hebrew reads, ‘at that time, whoever calls on the name of YHVH will be saved.’

Let’s take some time to call upon the name of YeHoVah!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Following this, YHVH and I had a beautiful walk, in which He filled my mouth with singing, songs I’d never sung before…

Later, I talked to Arthur, who had prayed for the boys at Passover. We were talking about the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, and he said that unforgiveness is one of the largest hindrances to the outpouring of the Spirit. He said that we also need to forget – or at least, let go of the pain in such a way that the pain does not continually create unforgiveness.   He asked if I had forgiven Rudy, and I said I was in the process, and explained what I meant, to him.

After taking some time with that in mind, I wrote the following:
YHVH – I lay down my right to hold onto Rudy’s sin. I lay down my right to vengeance, for you have said, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay.” You will mete out justice for the wrongs committed against me.
I choose again, to forgive Rudy for xxxxxxxxx . I choose again, to forgive Rudy for xxxxxxxxx ; to forgive Rudy for xxxxxxxxx. I choose to forgive Rudy for his xxxxxxxxx.
I choose to let him go into You, to You to deal with.

YHVH I choose to release Rudy and all his sins to You. I choose You. I ask You to erase the pain, to heal the pain, so that it has NO power to unforgiveness in me. I ask you, YHVH to heal, to continue to heal, so that when the memory of the past comes up, all I have, all I feel is Shalom, forgiveness, and Your heart for Me to have toward Him.  Let those memories be to have the power of YHVH written upon them. Let them be part of my testimony that You can and do completely heal our hearts!
I also release to you His parents, and the entire clan. I choose to forgive. I choose to lay down my need for vengeance and to allow you to heal me completely.

I walk in faith that this is coming True. Now. This is Present Reality. The dagger you removed from me, removed the messages and allowed healing of the pain that those messages had inflicted to begin. Continue and complete that Healing! Thank you this is a present reality! It is coming now! Praise YHVH!!! Forgive and cleanse me. Fill Me with You!!

 

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

What are your thoughts?

