Repentance & Revival

Standard

The following comes from several places in my mind… but it started last winter, when I was posting regarding the presidential debates.  I got into a few arguments 🙂 with a few friends on the matter, and when it came down to it was saying – “I don’t think politics will save us, but prayerfully, electing a better man than the current and a better man than most on the debate circuit would at least slow the demise of this country down long enough for my children to be just a bit older.”… One of my sisters suggested, quietly, that what we need is repentance for the corporate wrongs… That’s been tumbling around in my mind since…

Last night, after another conversation about personal repentance, it all rather bubbled up, and the I wrote the following:

As I think about all the devastation we have seen in the last week, the elections coming between two puppets, the chaos & riots occurring in many parts of the world, the utter depravity of individuals found doing heinous acts … down to some of the more troubling undercurrents I find in my own heart, as well as the hearts and interactions of my children, I grieve. And in that grieving, I’m finding one answer. It’s not a magic pill, but it might heal my heart and theirs. It’s not a magic pill for the corporate whole of the “Church”, or America, or the World … But It has the potential to bring True Holy, Wholly Change to the individual, and the greater body, and may “buy” a bit more time…
We find examples of that answer in 2 Chron 15, Daniel 9 (seen below) & Nehemiah 9 …

It’s called repentance. Not just for our sins, but for our father’s sins, our church’s sins, our country’s sins – for the generational, and corporate actions, choices and beliefs that formed us, even when we didn’t know it…

YHVH have mercy, Messiah, have mercy … for we have sinned…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Dan 9:4-19 – CJB …

May this be our prayer…

“4  I prayed to  Yehovah my Elohyim and made this confession:

Please, Adonai, great and fearsome God, who keeps his covenant and extends grace to those who love him and observe his mitzvot (commandments)!

5 We have sinned, done wrong, acted wickedly, rebelled and turned away from your mitzvot and rulings.

6 We have not listened to your servants the prophets, who spoke in your name to our kings, our leaders, our ancestors and to all the people of the land.

7 “To you, Adonai, belongs righteousness; but to us today belongs shame — to us, the men of Y’hudah (Judah), the inhabitants of Yerushalayim (Jerusalem) and all Isra’el, including those nearby and those far away, throughout all the countries where you have driven them; because they broke faith with you.

8 Yes, Adonai, shame falls on us, our kings, our leaders and our ancestors; because we sinned against you.

9 It is for Adonai our God to show compassion and forgiveness, because we rebelled against him.

10 We didn’t listen to the voice of Yehovah our Elohyim, so that we could live by his laws, which he presented to us through his servants the prophets.

11 Yes, all Isra’el flouted your Torah and turned away, unwilling to listen to your voice. Therefore the curse and oath written in the Torah of Moshe the servant of God was poured out on us, because we sinned against him.

12 He carried out the threats he spoke against us and against our judges who judged us, by bringing upon us disaster so great that under all of heaven, nothing has been done like what has been done to Yerushalayim.

13 As written in the Torah of Moshe, this whole disaster came upon us. Yet we did not appease Yehovah our Elohyim by renouncing our wrongdoing and discerning your truth.

14 So Yehovah watched for the right moment to bring this disaster upon us, for Yehovah our Elohyim was just in everything he did, yet we didn’t listen when he spoke.

15 “Now, Adonai our God, who brought your people out of the land of Egypt with a strong hand, thereby winning renown for yourself, as is the case today — we sinned, we acted wickedly.

16 Adonai, in keeping with all your justice, please allow your anger and fury to be turned away from your city Yerushalayim, your holy mountain; because it is due to our sins and the wrongdoings of our ancestors that Yerushalayim and your people have become objects of scorn among everyone around us.

17 Therefore, our God, listen to the prayer and pleadings of your servant; and cause your face to shine on your desolated sanctuary, for your own sake.

18 My God, turn your ear, and hear; open your eyes and see how desolated we are, as well as the city which bears your name. For we plead with you not because of our own righteousness, but because of your compassion.

19 Adonai, hear!

Adonai, forgive!

Adonai, pay attention, and don’t delay action —

for your own sake, my God, because your city and your people bear your name!”


 I particularly like verse 8 in the KJV… it sounds so very familiar…


“O Lord, to us belongeth confusion of face, to our kings, to our princes, and to our fathers, because we have sinned against thee.”

Watching the news, the politics, the debates… seems very much a confusion of face…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Of course, to repent, we must have “conviction” of the wrong… A beautiful friend posted the following yesterday..

“True conviction is not God’s finger wagging in your face…or even wagging from 10 feet above as He stares down at your mess. True conviction is when the God of the Universe kneels down into whatever pit you’re in, laces His fingers together, and holds out His hands to boost you out, regardless of the mud and manure on your feet. True conviction is not, “What have you done?” But “Let’s get out of here.”  ” ~Elizabeth Webb

Yes! Let’s get out of Here!!!

Repentance – in the original script means to “Return Home” … to turn your back on the false and focus on the destination and to destroy the “house” (built of sin) leaving nothing to come back to…

May we each “Return Home” to Him, the author and finisher of our Story of faith!
Will you join me in praying the above prayer for ourselves, for the generations of sin which still bind us personally, as a body of Believers, and as a nation? In Taking that Lift out of the Mire, In Turning to Him with a Whole Heart??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

What are your thoughts?

