Homesick… In Response to “In a Land far from Home”

Standard

Last year, today, I posted a blog, “In a Land, far from Home” .

The joy of living within fellowship, even if that fellowship is separated by many miles, is that Art is born out of community & fellowship.  Last year, longtime friend & talented musician, Grant Andrew of http://www.deepbrewedlife.com/ , read my blog, and sent me a song he’d written in response to it, out of the longing for home.

He wrote:
“Paul said it made no difference to live or to die, either way he was with God…I want that life.”

Homesick

I am Homesick, not to go but to be
Oh, I’m Homesick, I want your home here in me

Deep calls to deep through the dim glass
Life full of images streaming past
And still the river runs empty in me
Friendships like steel then they weaken
Habits died hard, but then strengthened
How long can I be burned to this degree

Homesick, not to go but to be
Homesick, I want your home here in me

Too long I looked for the ending
Missed beauty in the beginning
Will the river run full again in me
Tears sparkling in the firelight
Heart beats again to the right time

Homesick, not to go but to be
Homesick, I want your home here in me

June, 3, 2012, Grant & the Scattered Minstrels gave a private lawn concert to a group of friends here in SW NC. After the concert, the guys played a few more songs that hadn’t made it into the concert.  “Homesick” was one of them. This was the first time that the band members had played the song, so they are following Grant’s lead, and  making it up as they go along. (another example of art coming out of community & fellowship 🙂  ).   The recording was taken with my iPod, so it is no way professional, but, I love the song, love the spontaneity of the music, the interaction of the band, and wanted to share it with you-  on one of the days of the year that I most long for HOME.

Truly, I am Homesick!

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

What are your thoughts?

