Considering Hell….

Standard

Image of Lion in Fire... from For His Glory Flags dot com

The common belief is that Hell is an act of Yehovah. And that the cleansing fire, which cleanses the Earth is an act of Yehovah. I’m okay with that, however, I don’t think He will be superseding His own Laws to do that act. In fact, I’m more inclined to think He currently holds back His fire, which is un-natural for Him. (I can’t find the verse that states He does an un-natural thing… in one of the major Prophets I believe…)
Here’s what I’m thinking….
Yehovah is a consuming fire – right? (Heb 12:29)
Lucifer, a covering cherub, was on the Holy Mountain of Yehovah, and Walked amidst the fiery stones (Ez 28). Imagine that! Walking amidst, not just on, amidst… I’m thinking that’s got to be intensely hot – spiritually and physically!
Ps 24 says that those with clean hands and a pure heart may ascend the Hill of Yehovah, and may stand in His Holy Place.
Repeatedly we are told that those who Love Yehovah, the remnant, the Bride, the chosen will be refined in the fire… (Zach 13, Mal 3, 1 Peter 1)
I am coming to believe that when we submit to Yehovah, He slowly brings us into Himself, into Himself who is a Consuming FIRE, and Lovingly cleanses us, bit by bit as much as we can handle in any one instance, to the point that we will eventually ascend the Hill of Yehovah and stand in the midst of Fire. We submit to this, willingly, joyfully, and over time. The consuming of our sin includes Him bringing us to a recognition of it, our repentance, and our walking in newness of life, changing old habits, old thinking patterns, etc. His consuming doesn’t consume our bodies, it consumes our sin, the yuck and dross in our souls.  He does this with great LOVE, for He is also Love (1 John 4).

What if, perhaps, the fire of Hell is Yehovah himself, who does not withhold Himself Spiritually from the wicked (as He does now) and with nothing good in them, their evil is consumed as He draws them into His embrace. It will be torturous for them, as they will be brought to see their sin clearly; which, in my experience is not a comfortable revelation!!! – Just think about how you feel when someone confronts you with your sin, even when they do so lovingly!? Heart racing, flushed cheeks, a heaviness of heart, potentially even heart attack producing …  Eventually, the overwhelming horror of what they see will consume their souls and they will die.   Just as Nadab and Abihu were consumed when they entered the House of Yehovah unclean and with profane worship, Yehovah’s fire consumed their souls. They had walked into His very presence!    It was not un-natural to Himself, for a spiritual fire to flash and them to be consumed. It would have been un-natural for Him to hold His fire back, as He did when He passed before Moses, saying, “you may only see my backside, no one may see my face and live” (Ex 33) ….

Perhaps the cleansing fire upon the earth, which then burns up the bodies of the wicked (remember Nadab & Abihu were consumed, but their bodies still lay on the Tabernacle floor) and the rest of the earth is again, part of the Consuming fire which is Yehovah. The Natural, Hot Consuming Fire which burns and removes the physical effects of evil so that all things can be made new?

Point being, I’m much more inclined to believe that while Hell is an Act of Yehovah, it is not against His nature, nor Against His Laws of Nature. I believe the Fire which consumes spirit and body are both truly part of who Yehovah is.  I believe sin simply can not exist in the presence of Yehovah, it will be consumed…
Much better to submit to His refining process now!

Image of girl created by flames

About Beloved of YHWH

I am the “Head of Domestic Affairs” here on the mountain top. What that means is, I’m a stay-at home mom of 2 Boys, Small business owner, gardener, homemaker, blogger, planner, mediator, nurse, and so much more. My life took an unexpected and painful turn a couple of years ago, which is how I came to name my blog Shakam Boqer, but YHVH has been incredibly faithful to me, the boys and I are healing, and I am full of hope. I’m a follower of Yeshua, and my faith is an integral part of my life. Part of how He created me to reflect Him is to be a teller of the Story. I share my story, not as an exhibitionist, not for the attention it might receive, not for accolades or recognition, but, for His Glory – so that others, as they read, as they see how YHVH has led and loved me over the course of time, can be edified, lifted up, encouraged to Look to HIM, to Trust Him, to pursue Holy Wholeness with every fiber of their beings. Within this blog, I want community and conversation and interaction. I want to offer hope, and joy, and also thought provoking bits that make one look deeper into the heart of Elohim. This is my place to share my thoughts, wrestlings and just daily life. Please, please feel free to comment, discuss and even dissect & respectfully disagree. Be sure you check out Welcome & Disclaimers to get a general idea of the Blog, and what I am about: http://wp.me/p1Tc3u-1 Feel free to contact me directly at: abigailmistyd at gmail dot com. Some blogs are password protected as I don't want pictures of my children pulled from my blog in a "image search" and posted elsewhere on the web. If I know you in person, or we have interacted online, and you'd like to read them, shoot me a note, tell me how I know you, and ask for the password. :)

3 responses »

  1. I am glad you wrote this, Misty. This subject has oddly been on my mind and heart lately, I say “oddly” as it’s only been the past 18 months or so that Spirit has begun to gently shake some of the things I was taught concerning Hell to see if they stand or fall. Your line of thought is also bringing to mind Jesus saying repeatedly “do not fear men, who can kill the body, but fear Him who has the power to destroy both body and soul in hell”…probably slight paraphrasing there, and I know in the KJV it’s worded slightly differently in the 3-4 places it shows up. I would sure love to see those verses in actual original language, too….

    Like

What are your thoughts?

